Deleting, voiding or editing an issued document originally depends on whether it was delivered to your customer and if they have recorded it in their books or not.

Scenario #1: The document was delivered to your client

If the client has already recorded the document in their books, the correct procedure is to issue them a credit note, of the same value, which you will send to them as well. Next, you need to pay-off the credit note by choosing "Apply credit", so as to correlate the two documents, even out you cash flow and the customer's balance.

If the document was delivered but not paid (in an "Issued" state), then you can void it and issue a new one, since your client agrees and has not registered it in their books. For voidance instructions, refer to the related article here.

Scenario #2: The document wasn't delivered to your customer

If you haven't delivered it to the customer, you can delete, void or edit to correct it, provided that it's not paid-off. 

A general rule is that to delete or edit a document it should not be linked to cash entries (receipts or payments) or other documents (eg credit notes).

Delete related receipts / payments

This can be done in two ways:

  • From the Cash flow menu (payments or receipts), select the entry you want to delete, and click Actions -> Delete Selected.
  • From the document's view page and the Related cash receipts/paymentssection. Click on the (X) next to Details and delete:

Edit / Deletion process

If the document is in an "Issued" state you need to click "Edit" and restore it into a draft.

At this point, you choose whether to proceed with corrections and reissue or permanently delete the document. If you want to delete it, at the bottom of the screen there is an option to "Delete" and pressing it the invoice will be deleted from the system.

Note that this action can not be undone. For more information about deleting records in the application, see the related article.

The difference between voiding and deleting is that in the first situation the record will no longer exist in the electronic database of the application, while the in the second one the record remains, but its number can't be used again. 

Important notes

  • Before permanently deleting a document, make sure that this action does not violate the serial numbering rules. You run the risk of creating "gaps" in your numbering that you may not be able to fix afterwards.
  • If the "Force serial numbering" option is activated in your account, Elorus will not allow you to edit issued documents. Therefore, either you're going to temporarily deactivate it to edit/delete a document or, you're going to issue a credit note to reverse a charge. Also, you can always void the document and move on to issuing a new one.
  • You can mark as issued a void document, provided that you used the void option by mistake, by selecting the relevant option from me (...) icon.

See also

Did this answer your question?